Download Now

VA - Can You Dig It? The '70s Soul Experience (Box Set, 6CD) - 2001, MP3

Artist: VA
Title: Can You Dig It? The '70s Soul Experience (Box Set, 6CD)
Year Of Release: 2001
Label: Rhino Records
Genre: Soul/Funk, R&B
Quality: MP3 320 kbps
Total Time: 07:50:30
Total Size: 1.06 Gb

Like other super-ambitious genre overviews on Rhino, this six-CD box set is documenting a style so large and diverse that the track selection is not going to completely satisfy everybody, even with 136 songs. There are many good things to say about this release, though. To start with the positive, most of the major soul stars of the '70s are represented with at least one track, and sometimes with a couple cuts. In addition, there are lots of fine hits by dozens of artists who only had a few (or only one) big records, from the Winstons' "Color Him Father" and Jean Knight's "Mr. Big Stuff" to Cornelius Brothers & Sister Rose's "Too Late to Turn Back Now" and Sylvia's "Pillow Talk." Rather than be strict about the chronological boundaries of the project, there are a half-dozen 1969 singles in the '70s soul vein to lead off disc one, as well as a solitary cut from the early '80s (Rose Royce's "Golden Touch," which could have been left off without any tears shed). Room is made for some non-African-American soul by whites and Latinos, and plenty of big-but-not-huge hits. Sensibly, the first half of the '70s is heavily represented, all but one of the post-1975 cuts getting shunted onto disc six. On the other hand, there is no way to boil down, say, the output of Al Green, Marvin Gaye, Curtis Mayfield, Sly & the Family Stone, and other superstars to just one or two representative songs, and some might quibble with the ones selected, though generally the compilers wisely played it safe by targeting big hits. In addition, some superstars are not present at all -- the Jackson 5, Diana Ross, Aretha Franklin, and Stevie Wonder, for instance. There's nothing that might be considered rare, with nearly every one of the tracks having been a substantial hit single, even if some of those -- the Fuzz's "I Love You for All Seasons," the 8th Day's "She's Not Just Another Woman," and Brighter Side of Darkness' "Love Jones," for instance -- aren't exactly over-represented on compilations. The final disc might round out the chronology of the decade, but also is far inferior to the rest of the set, often illustrating soul's decline into pop slickness. But you know what? It's still a very good, intelligent overview of '70s soul, guaranteed to please someone who doesn't collect this stuff obsessively, but wants a lot of it around, sequenced in a manner that ensures variety and quality. The packaging is, as is always the case with major Rhino box sets, quite imaginative, with a 78-page information booklet and an outer cover that simulates a rack of eight-track tapes.

Disc 01
01 Friends Of Distinction - Grazing In The Grass
02 Winstons - Color Him Father
03 Eddie Holman - Hey There Lonely Girl
04 Glass House - Crumbs Off The Table
05 Brook Benton - Rainy Night In Georgia
06 Sly and the Family Stone - Everybody Is A Star
07 Chairmen Of The Board - Give Me Just A Little More Time
08 Delfonics - Didn't I (Blow Your Mind This Time)
09 Originals - The Bells
10 Tyrone Davis - Turn Back The Hands Of Time
11 Moments - Love On A Two-Way Street
12 Freda Payne - Band Of Gold
13 5 Stairsteps - O-o-h Child
14 Flaming Ember - Westbound #9
15 Three Degrees - Maybe
16. Lost Generation - The Sly, Slick, And The Wicked
17. Edwin Starr - War
18. 100 Proof Aged In Soul - Somebody's Been Sleeping
19. B.T. Express - Express
20. Jackie Moore - Precious, Precious
21. Beginning Of The End - Funky Nassau--Part I
22. King Floyd - Groove Me
23. Fuzz - I Love You For All Seasons
24. Honey Cone - Want Ads
25. Paul Humphrey - Cool Aid

Disc 02
1. Wilson Pickett - Don't Knock My Love--Pt. I
10. Persuaders - Thin Line Between Love & Hate
11. Chi-Lites - Have You Seen Her
12. Isaac Hayes - Theme From Shaft
13. Staple Singers - Respect Yourself
14. Sly and the Family Stone - Family Affair
15. Al Green - Let's Stay Together
17. Honey Cone - One Monkey Don't Stop No Show--Part I
18. Joe Simon - Drowning In The Sea Of Love
2. Friends Of Distinction - Love Or Let Me Be Lonely
20. Frederick Knight - I've Been Lonely For So Long
21. Malo - Suavecito
22. Soul Children - Hearsay
3. Freda Payne - Deeper & Deeper
4. Chairmen Of The Board - Pay To The Piper
5. Jean Knight - Mr. Big Stuff
6. Laura Lee - Women's Love Rights
7. Dramatics - Whatcha See Is Whatcha Get
8. King Floyd - Baby Let Me Kiss You
9. Brenda - Right On the Tip Of My Tongue

Disc 03
01 Staple Singers - I'll Take You There
02 Dramatics - In The Rain
03 Stylistics - Betcha By Golly, Wow
04 Chi-Lites - Oh Girl
05 Bill Withers - Lean On Me
06 Joe Tex - I Gotcha
07 Isaac Hayes - Do Your Thing
08 Spinners - I'll Be Around
09 Cornelius Brothers - Too Late To Turn Back Now
10 Luther Ingram - (If Loving You Is Wrong) I Don't Want To Be Right
11 Mel - Starting All Over Again
12 O'Jays - Back Stabbers
13 Tower Of Power - You're Still A Young Man
14 Main Ingredient - Everybody Plays The Fool
15 Curtis Mayfield - Freddie's Dead (Theme From 'Superfly')
16 Johnny Nash - I Can See Clearly Now
17 Harold Melvin - If You Don't Know Me By Now
18 Brighter Side Of Darkness - Love Jones
19 Billy Paul - Me And Mrs. Jones
20 Temptations - Papa Was A Rollin' Stone

Disc 04
01 Spinners - Could It Be I'm Falling In Love
03 O'Jays - Love Train
04 Timmy Thomas - Why Can't We Live Together
05 Four Tops - Ain't No Woman (Like The One I've Got)
06 New York City - I'm Doin' Fine Now
07 Sylvia - Pillow Talk
08 Tower Of Power - So Very Hard To Go
10 Marvin Gaye - Let's Get It On
11 Isley Brothers - That Lady--Part I
12 Eddie Kendricks - Keep On Truckin'--Part I
13 Millie Jackson - Hurts So Good
14 Gladys Knight - Midnight Train To Georgia
15 Ann Peebles - I Can't Stand The Rain
16 War - The World Is A Ghetto
17 El Chicano - Tell Her She's Lovely
18 Harold Melvin - The Love I Lost--Part I
19 Johnnie Taylor - Cheaper To Keep Her
20 Al Wilson - Show And Tell
22 William DeVaughn - Be Thankful For What You Got
23 Main Ingredient - Just Don't Want To Be Lonely

Disc 05
01 James Brown - The Payback--Part I
02 Kool and The Gang - Hollywood Swinging
04 Hues Corporation - Rock The Boat
05 Impressions - Finally Got Myself Together (I'm A Changed Man)
06 George McCrae - Rock Your Baby
07 Rufus - Tell Me Something Good
08 Pointer Sisters - Yes We Can Can
09 Johnny Bristol - Hang On In There Baby
11 Tymes - You Little Trustmaker
12 Minnie Riperton - Lovin' You
13 Shirley Brown - Woman To Woman
14 Carl Carlton - Everlasting Love
15 Three Degrees - When Will I See You Again
17 LaBelle - Lady Marmalade
18 Blackbyrds - Walking In Rhythm
20 Earth, Wind and Fire - Reasons
21 Gwen McCrae - Rockin' Chair
22 Rose Royce - I Wanna Get Next To You
23 Major Harris - Love Won't Let Me Wait

Disc 06
1. Earth, Wind and Fire - Shining Star
10. Lou Rawls - You'll Never Find Another Love Like Mine
12. Emotions - Best Of My Love
14. Floaters - Float On
15. Heatwave - Always And Forever
16. L.T.D. - (Every Time I Turn Around) Back In Love Again
17. Rick James - You And I
19. Peaches - Reunited
2. ExpressCharles Wright - Express Yourself
20. Smokey Robinson - Cruisin'
21. Rose Royce - Golden Touch
4. War - Why Can't We Be Friends┬┐
5. Curtis Mayfield - So In Love
6. Ohio Players - Love Rollercoaster
7. Tavares - It Only Takes A Minute
9. Manhattans - Kiss And Say Goodbye







Direct Download

Tags: Experience

Add Comments:
Enter Code: *