Download Now

Joyce Breach - Nothin' But Blue Skies

Artist: Joyce Breach
Title: Nothin' But Blue Skies
Year Of Release: 1997
Label: Audiophile
Genre: Jazz / Vocal Jazz
Quality: Mp3 / 320kbps
Total Time: 67:06 min
Total Size: 152 MB

01. Blue Skies
02. If I Had You
03. Sombody Loves Me
04. You're An Education
05. I Can Dream, Can't It
06. Sand In My Shoes
07. But Not For Me
08. P.S., I Love You
09. I've Heard That Song Before
10. Look At That Face
11. Too Marvelous For Words
12. The Nearness Of You
13. A Hundred Years From Today
14. What's New?
15. Love Is Here To Stay
16. You're Gonna Hear From Me
17. Just One Of Those Things

Joyce Breach is a fine cabaret singer with a deep voice who mostly sings songs fairly straightforwardly. This is one of her most jazz-oriented releases, not because she starts improvising any more than normal, but due to her strong sidemen: trombonist Bob Havens, clarinetist Bobby Gordon, pianist Keith Ingham, bassist Bob Haggart and drummer Hal Smith (who is the leader of the backup quintet).

Most of the selections are either from the swing era or played in that style, and there are plenty of short solos from Havens and Gordon. Breach sounds fine on such tunes as "Somebody Loves Me," "I Can Dream, Can't I," "But Not for Me" and "A Hundred Years From Today," although she rarely makes any of the vintage standards her own. ~Scott Yanow

Joyce Breach - Nothin' But Blue Skies
Direct Download

Tags: Breach, Nothin

Add Comments:
Enter Code: *