Download Now

Meredith Monk, Robert Een - Facing North (1992)
Artist: Meredith Monk, Robert Een
Title: Facing North
Year Of Release: 1992
Label: ECM Records / ECM New Series
Genre: Avant-Garde, Modern Classical, Contemporary, Experimental
Quality: FLAC (image+cue)
Total Time: 0:55:30
Total Size: 252 Mb


01. Northern Lights 1
02. Chinook
03. Long Shadows 1
04. Keeping Warm
05. Northern Lights 2
06. Chinook Whispers
07. Arctic Bar
08. Hocket
09. Long Shadows 2
10. Epic
11. Fire Dance
12. Little Epiphany/Sybil Song
13. Mill
14. Boat Song

Composed while working on the Atlas opera, "Facing North" was composed at the Leighton Artist's Colony in Banff, Alberta, and inspired by the sights and sounds of rural Canada in the winter months. The "Northern Lights" movements are atmospheric and gentle, while "Arctic Bar" represents the sounds of humanity congregating in a warm tavern -- dissonant, happy, and uncomfortable. "Keeping Warm" is an agitated staccato-punctuated vocal pattern that instills the mind with the notion of resorting to movement to keep one's self warm. This is a multi-faceted view of "north" as a state of mind -- what Monk calls "the awareness of the fragility of human life in relation to the forces of nature and in turn the vulnerability of nature itself to the indifference of human beings." Two other pieces are included on this release: the dramatic "Vessel: An Opera Epic" (a composition from 1971 based loosely on the life of Joan of Arc) and "Boat Song" (a movement from Monk's 1979 "Recent Ruins" composition). "Vessel" is an emotional piece; the "Fire Dance" movement is very slow and passionate with drones and throat singing, and the "Epic" portion is very shrill and agitated. "Boat Song" is short and esoteric; it leaves the listener wishing there were more of the whole piece included on this recording.

Buy Premium From My Links To Get Resumable Support,Max Speed & Support Me

Direct Download

Tags: Meredith, Robert, Facing

Add Comments:
Enter Code: *