Download Now

Dan Wilson - All Love Is Blind
Folk Rock, Acoustic, Singer-Songwriter | MP3 CBR 320 kbps | 40:49 min | 101 MB + 5% Recovery
Label: Halfpenny Records | Tracks: 11 | 2015

Cubical frontman Dan Wilson finally releases his first solo album. It's a major musical departure from his previous work, with a more introspective & lyrically orientated sound in the classic alt folk tradition of Leonard Cohen, Johnny Cash, Nick Cave & Nick Lowe. Drawing on the musical talents of producers Kal Ross & long-time Cubical producer Keith Thompson, All Love is Blind walks the fine line between the raw & the refined. This mixture of genres that blend folk, old blues & country along with a little rock n roll, all serve as wonderful settings for Wilson's debut.
The album utilises the evocative & purifying sound of cello & violin to create a perfect backdrop in which Wilson's voice & lyrical prowess can feature. Title track All Love is Blind is a rich absorbing ode to the futility of love in which the fine production work of Kal Ross comes to the fore, with an intricate use of backing vocals & percussion that work in unison with the strings & Wilson's vocal to tug at the heart strings. The Waves on the other h& is a rumbling whirl of intense brooding & rhythmic convulsion that speaks of a dark world of judgment & is hurried along by the frenetic violin of Rod Leung & the primordial percussion of Cubical rhythmical stalwart Mark Percy. Add to this the backing vocals of Laura Campbell (Mulu/Legends of Flight) & the fine production work of Keith Thompson & what results is a cacophonous track of raw & spellbinding power. Lonely Drunk is a boozy country folk ballad well versed in the tradition of late night crooning & tears in one's beer. The double bass & then trombone solo of musical genius & theatre composer &y Frizzell (Wizards of Twiddly) is worth the fee alone & works wonders with R&y Newman & Nick Lowe esque lyrical introspection that verges on the ridiculous. 5 Nights Long is raw Wilson, in Cubical mode, beset with jealousy & growling. This rough & ready blues stomp is driven by the wonderful slide playing of Cubical lead guitarist Alex Gavaghan. The penultimate track on the album Where Did All The Love Go? is a lullaby best enjoyed with a late night whisky, a gentle & tender piece that mixes the fragile vocal & acoustic guitar of Wilson with the luscious & sorrowful tones of Siofra Ward's cello. A wonderful way to end such an absorbing journey. More than simply a break up album this is more like a get back together & then break up again album. Try saying that after you've had a few.

01. All Love Is Blind (4:37)
02. Five Nights Long (3:13)
03. The Waves (3:32)
04. Love Was Calling Me (3:12)
05. Lonely Drunk (3:42)
06. Deny You This Kiss (4:25)
07. Loved But One Woman (3:09)
08. The Rain (3:18)
09. So Long My Sweet World (3:19)
10. Where Did All the Love Go? (4:01)
11. I Tried to Reach You (4:29)
Download link:

Links are Interchangeable - No Password - Single Extraction
Direct Download

Tags: Wilson

Add Comments:
Enter Code: *