Download Now

Patti LaBelle & The Bluebelles - Island Of Unbroken Hearts (1993/2011)
Artist: Patti LaBelle & The Bluebelles
Title Of Album: Island Of Unbroken Hearts
Year Of Release: 1993/2011
Label: King of Rock 'n Roll
Genre: R&B, Soul
Format: Mp3 | Flac
Quality: 320 kbps | Lossless
Total Time: 46:05 Min
Total Size: 113 Mb | 283 Mb


01. Island of Unbroken Hearts
02. One Phone Call (Will Do)
03. Have I Sinned
04. Go On (This Is Goodbye)
05. Impossible
06. Where Are You ?
07. Down The Aisle
08. Tear After Tear
09. Danny Boy
10. C'est La Vie
11. I Walked Right In
12. Itty Bitty Twist
13. When Johnny Comes Marching Home
14. You'll Never Walk Alone
15. Cool Water
16. I Sold My Heart To The Junkman

This album chronicles the recordings of Patti LaBelle & the Bluebelles from before their creation as a group -- the Bluebelles' biggest hit, "I Sold My Heart to the Junkman," was actually recorded by a different group, and they were then assembled to promote it -- to their departure from the small Philadelphia label for which they recorded in the mid-'60s. They scored a handful of minor hits with covers that were surprising for an R&B girl group, such as "You'll Never Walk Alone" and "Danny Boy," but their approach was similar to the gospel-influenced rhythmic sound of Motown, and lead singer Patti LaBelle was already showing off the pipes that would make her a major star in succeeding decades. It's hard to imagine how this material could have been handled better: the tracks are well-annotated, and Robert Pruter's liner notes tell the group's story concisely, yet completely. Tracks originally used on an artificially constructed "live" album have had the bogus audience noise stripped off them for a more accurate sound. The material may be juvenilia and, at 37 minutes, there may not be much of it, but this is a textbook case of how to do a reissue.

Direct Download

Tags: LaBelle, Bluebelles, Island, Unbroken, Hearts

Add Comments:
Enter Code: *